Loading...
Braille Challenge Regional Sites 2018-05-31T15:19:49+00:00

ARIZONA REGIONALS

Phoenix, Arizona Regional

Foundation for Blind Children, Phoenix, AZ
Regional Date: December 9, 2017
Contact:
Cody Franklin | cfranklin@seeitourway.org | (602) 678-5817

Tucson, Arizona Regional

Arizona State Schools for the Deaf and the Blind, Tucson, AZ
Regional Date: February 20, 2018
Contact: Lisa Yencarelli | lisa.yencarelli@asdb.az.gov | (520) 770-3437

Arkansas Regional

Arkansas School for the Blind & Visually Impaired, Little Rock, Arkansas
Regional Date: February 1, 2018
Snow Date: February 8, 2018
Contact:
Lori Cole | lcole@asb.k12.ar.us | (501) 296-1810

CALIFORNIA REGIONALS

Northern California Regional

Vista Center for the Blind and Visually Impaired
Regional Date: March 3, 2018
Contact: Alice Turner | aturner@vistacenter.org | (650) 858-0202 ext. 130
Co-sponsor with California School for the Blind and SF Light House for the Blind
Event Location: 101 N. Bascom Ave., San Jose, CA 95128

Southern California Regional

Braille Institute
Regional Date: January 27, 2018
Contact: Matt Beckwith | mjbeckwith@brailleinstitute.org | (714) 821-5000, Ext. 2124
Event Location: Fullerton Community College, 321 E. Chapman Ave., Fullerton, CA 92832

CANADA REGIONALS

Alberta, Canada Regional

Alberta Society for the Visually Impaired, Calgary, Alberta, CANADA
Regional Date: March 2, 2018
Contact: Carolyn Malcolm | camalcolm@cbe.ab.ca | 403-777-7373 Ext. 2262

British Columbia, Canada Regional

UBC Faculty of Education, Department of ECPS, Vancouver, British Columbia
Regional Date: February 23, 2018
Contact: Adam Wilton | adam.p.wilton@gmail.com | (604) 446-6482

COLORADO REGIONALS

Colorado Springs Regional

Colorado School for the Deaf and Blind, Colorado Springs, Colorado
Regional Date: January 18, 2018
Contact: Jamie Lugo | jlugo@csdb.org | (719) 494-7669

Denver Metro Regional

Denver Metro Regional Braille Challenge
Regional Date: January 25, 2018
Contact: Diane Covington | dcovington@csdb.org | (719) 578-2225

FLORIDA REGIONALS

East Florida Regional

Grace Covenant Presbyterian Church/FIMC-VI/FAER, Orlando, Florida
Regional Date: February 9, 2018
Contact: Sue Glaser | sglaser@fimcvi.org | (813) 695-8193

North Florida Regional

Jacksonville Public Library/FIMC-VI/FAER, Jacksonville, Florida
Regional Date: January 25, 2018
Contact: Sue Glaser | sglaser@fimcvi.org | (813) 695-8193

South Florida Regional

Arthur Ashe, Jr. Campus/FIMC-VI/FAER, Ft. Lauderdale, Florida
Regional Date: February 16, 2018
Contact: Sue Glaser | sglaser@fimcvi.org | (813) 695-8193

West Florida Regional

Lions Eye Institute Foundation/FIMC-VI/FAER, Tampa, Florida
Regional Date: March 2, 2018
Contact: Sue Glaser | sglaser@fimcvi.org | (813) 695-8193

Georgia Regional

Sponsored by Georgia Academy for the Blind and The Atlanta Braille Volunteers, Macon, Georgia
Regional Date: February 28, 2018
Contact: Dawn Day | mday@doe.k12.ga.us | (478) 751-6085

IDAHO REGIONALS

Gooding, Idaho Regional

Idaho School for the Deaf and Blind, Gooding, Idaho
Regional Date: March 7, 2018
Contact: Susan Baker | susan.baker@iesdb.org | (208) 934-4457

IESDB Region 4 (Boise) Regional

Meridian, Idaho
Regional Date: February 24, 2018
Contact: Susan Baker | (208) 761-3588

IESDB Region 7 (Idaho Falls) Regional

Idaho Falls, Idaho

Regional Date: February 24, 2018
Contact: Jan Anderson | jan.anderson@iesdb.org | (208) 589-1805
Contact: Nancy Luthy | nancy.luthy@iesdb.org | (208)589-2549

Illinois Regional

Illinois School for the Visually Impaired, Jacksonville, IL
Regional Date: February 8, 2018
Contact: Gina Carr | gina.carr@illinois.gov | (217) 479-4450

Independent Participants

For students not affiliated with a Regional event.

Regional Date: TBD

Indiana Regional

Indiana School for the Blind and Visually Impaired , Indianapolis, Indiana

Regional Date: February 3, 2018
Snow Date: February 24, 2018
Contact: Tiffany Sanders | TSanders@isbvik12.org | (317) 253-1481 ext. 105

Iowa Regional

Co-hosted by Iowa Library for the Blind & Physically Handicapped and Iowa Braille School, Des Moines, Iowa

Regional Date: January 27, 2018
Snow Date: February 3, 2018
Contact: Karen Cunningham | karen.cunningham@blind.state.ia.us | 800-362-2587 Ext. 11283

KANSAS REGIONALS

Kansas City Regional

Kansas State School for the Blind, Kansas City, Kansas

Regional Date: March 3, 2018
Snow Date: March 10, 2018
Contact: Aundrayah Shermer | ashermer@kssdb.org | (913) 209-0986

Wichita, Kansas Regional

Kansas State School for the Blind, Kansas City, Kansas
Regional Date: February 16, 2018
Snow Date: February 24, 2018
Contact: Aundrayah Shermer | ashermer@kssdb.org | (913) 209-0986

Kentucky Regional

American Printing House for the Blind, Louisville, Kentucky
Regional Date: February 22, 2018
Snow Date: March 1, 2018
Contact: Janie Blome | jblome@aph.org | (502) 899-2367
or
Jane Thompson | jthompson@aph.org | (502) 899-2370

Louisiana Regional

Louisiana School for the Visually Impaired, Baton Rouge, Louisiana
Regional Date: February 8, 2018
Contact: Robin King | rking@lsvi.org | (225) 757-3477

Maryland Regional

Maryland School for the Blind, Baltimore, Maryland
Regional Date: February 3, 2018
Snow Date: February 10, 2018
Contact: Jacqueline Otwell | jacquelineo@mdschblind.org | (443) 889-3899

Michigan Regional

Michigan Dept. of Education: Low Incidence Outreach in partnership with Genesee County ISD
Event Location: 702 W. Kalamazoo St., St. Lansing, MI 48909
Regional Date: February 24, 2018
Contact: Johanna Anand | anandj@michigan.gov | 517-241-4045

Missouri Regional

Missouri School for the Blind, St. Louis, Missouri
Regional Date: February 14, 2018
Contact: Linda Havlik | linda.havlik@msb.dese.mo.gov | (314) 776-4320

Nebraska Regional

Nebraska Center for the Education of Children Who Are Blind & Visually Impaired, Nebraska City, Nebraska
Regional Date: February 13, 2018
Contact: Tanya Armstrong | tarmstrong@esu4.net | (402) 873-5513

New England Regional

The Carroll Center for the Blind

Regional Date: March 3, 2018
Contact:
Monica Grochowski | monica.grochowski@carroll.org | (617) 969-6200

New Mexico Regional

New Mexico School for the Blind
Regional Date: February 24, 2018
Contact: Rachael Rivera | afrrmfaf@gmail.com | (575) 618-7395
or: Julie Johnson | jjohnson@nmsbvi.k12.nm.us | (575) 430-7806

NEW YORK REGIONALS

Long Island Regional

East Meadow School District, Westbury, New York
Regional Date: February 3, 2018
Snow Date: February 10, 2018
Contact: Petra Tarrant | ptarrant@emufsd.us | (516) 876-7451

New York City Regional

EVS, NYC, New York
Regional Date: February 10, 2018
Snow Date: March 4, 2018
Contact: Jonathan Hooper | jhooper@schools.nyc.gov | (917) 256-4201
Event Location: Queens, John F. Kennedy jr. School (P721Q) 57-12 94 St., Elmhurst, NY 11373

Upstate New York Regional

NYS School for the Blind, Batavia, New York
Regional Date: January 28, 2018
Snow Date: February 10, 2018
Contact:
Christopher Wolske |
christopher.wolske@nysed.gov
| (585) 343-5384, Ext. 233

NORTH CAROLINA REGIONALS

Eastern North Carolina Regional

Eye Shine Foundation
Regional Date: February 22, 2018
Snow Date: March 1, 2018
Contact: Jolie Lindley |
jolie@equaleyevisionservices.com | (919) 480-8800 ext. 700

Western North Carolina Regional

Catawba County Schools
7050 Camp Dogwood Dr. Sherrills Ford
Sherrills Ford, North Carolina 28673
Regional Date: February 8, 2018
Contact:
Angela Coulter Biggerstaff | angela_coulterbigger@catawbaschools.net | (704) 473-9753

Ohio Regional

Clovernook Center for the Blind and Visually Impaired
7000 Hamilton Avenue, Cincinnati, Ohio 45231
Regional Date: March 2, 2018
Snow Date: March 9, 2018
Contact:
Jacky Conner | jconner@clovernook.org | (800) 866-6723
or
Deanna Lewis | braillechallenge@clovernook.org | 888-234-7156

Oklahoma Regional

Oklahoma School for the Blind
Muskogee, Oklahoma
Regional Date: February 22, 2018
Contact: Faye Miller | fmiller@osb.k12.ok.us | (918) 781-8200

South Carolina Regional

SC Commission for the Blind, Columbia, South Carolina
Regional Date: February 1, 2018
Contact: Jody Floyd | jodilynnfloyd@yahoo.com | (843)229-4618

Tennessee Regional

Tennessee School for the Blind, Nashville, Tennessee
Regional Date: March 1, 2018
Snow Date: March 8, 2018
Contact: Julia Hedrick | julia.hedrick@tsbtigers.org | (615) 231-7332

TEXAS REGIONALS

Central Texas Regional

Austin, Texas
Regional Date: February 3, 2018
Contact: Carolyn Mason | cmason@austinisd.org | (512) 414-5036

Dallas Area Regional

Region 10 Education Service Center
Regional Date: TBD
Contact: Belinda Rudinger | belinda.rudinger@region10.org | (972) 348-1676

North Texas Regional

White Settlement, Texas
Regional Date: February 9, 2018
Contact: Stephanie Walker |swalker@esc11.net | (817) 740-7594

Texas Rio Grande Regional

Robert Vela High School, Edinburg, Texas
Regional Date: TBD
Contact: Amanda Ramirez | am.ramirez@ecisd.us | (956) 369-0297

Utah Regional

Utah Foundation for the Blind, Riverton, Utah
Regional Date: March 2, 2018
Contact: Merrilee Petersen | rmpet4@gmail.com | (801) 455-6639
Event Location: DSBVI,
339 West 2300 South, Bountiful, Utah 84010

NORTHWESTERN WASHINGTON REGIONALS

Washington Council of the Blind Regional

Washington Talking Book & Braille Library
Regional Date: March 3, 2018
Contact:
Erin Groth | erin.groth@sos.wa.gov | (206) 615-1253
Event Location: 2121 9th Street, Seattle, WA 98109

Washington State Regional

WA State School for the Blind, Vancouver, WA
Regional Date: January 18, 2018
Contact: Jesse Bolt | jesse.bolt@wssb.wa.gov | (360) 947-3355

West Virginia Regional

West Virginia Schools for the Deaf & the Blind, Romney, West Virginia
Regional Date: February 15, 2018
Snow Date: March 1, 2018
Contact: Cassie Park | clpark@k12.wv.us | (304) 822-4881

WISCONSIN REGIONALS

Janesville, Wisconsin Regional

Wisconsin Center for the Blind & Visually Impaired, Janesville, Wisconsin
Regional Date: February 15, 2018
Snow Date: March 1, 2018
Contact: David Hyde | david.hyde@wcbvi.k12.wi.us | (608) 758-6152

Vision Forward Regional

Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Regional Date: January 19, 2018
Contact: Madalyn Barnes | mbarnes@vision-forward.org | (414) 615-0170